Android Apple Apps & Games Softwares Tutorials

How To Delete A Discord Account

How to delete a Discord Account

How to delete a Discord account permanently : Are you done with a game, have privacy concerns, decided to take the full plunge and cut ties with Discord completely? Or just bored with the app? Not a problem we have got you covered with this article.

Discord is primarily marketed as a gaming-focused app. The goal was to allow your PC or mobile device to focus most of its resources on actual games, rather than the chat application you have running in the background.

After a while, the Discord app expanded its reach and incorporated non-gamers as well. Today, it is one of the most popular chatting apps out there. It provides users with an improved communication platform that could facilitate the way people speak in real-time and over the internet.

However, for any reason, if you just want to move to a different chat app, or you want to delete your account to make a point, it’s worth taking a look into how to delete or disable your Discord account.

The Difference Between Disabling And Deleting A Discord Account

Discord allows you to both delete and disables your account, similar to social networks like Facebook. Disabling the account means you can recover it anytime you want and you are just taking a break, unlike deleting the account where you only have a 14-day restoration window.

If you would rather not delete your account completely and prefer to just step away on an extended hiatus with the possibility to return, disabling your Discord account is a favorable option. This choice will save you a bit of time later once you return and you will not have to jump through hoops to get your account back.

How To Disable Discord Account On PC/Laptop

Here’s how you can disable a Discord account:

1. Pull up the Discord app on your window PC and then log in to your Discord account.

2. Once you are Logged in. Head over to the “User Settings” or “The Cog icon” option.

3. Click on the “My Account” option within the User Settings menu.

4. At the bottom corner of your PC screen, you’ll see the “Disable Account” button, next to the “Delete Account” button

5. Click the “Disable Account” option to successfully disable the account.

How To Disable Discord Account On Mobile Phone

Disabling your Discord account for Android and iOS isn’t as easy as it is on a Desktop Windows/Mac PC.

Nonetheless, follow the steps below to disable Discord account on mobile:

1. Launch the Discord app on your phone.

2. Tap the cog or “User Settings” icon on the lower right corner of the phone.

3.Tap on the “My Account” option within the “User Settings” menu.

You’ll have the option to either “Delete Account” or “Disable Account.” However, whatever you choose, you’ll be prompted to the support page explaining ways to disabling or deleting your account.

Currently, there is no direct way to either delete or disable your Discord account through a mobile device. To complete the disabling process from a mobile device, you’ll have to send a request to the support team.

Jump over to:
How to enable Screen Share on Discord

How To Delete A Discord Account Permanently On PC

Are you done with a game, have privacy concerns, decided to take the full plunge and cut ties with Discord completely? Or just bored with the app? Not a problem.

It is pretty much the same procedure as disabling your account with a different ending. As said previously, for those on mobile, you will need to contact support to have your account deleted.

But before deleting your account, you will have to do two quick things:

1. Reassign ‘administrative rights’ to your servers
2. Completely delete them
The only reason you will have to think about these things is if you assumed responsibility for any server.

Here are the simple steps to delete your account successfully:

1. Open the Discord app and Log in to your Discord account

2. Once you are Logged in. Head over to the “User Settings” or  “Cog icon” option.

3. Click on the “My Account” option within the User Settings menu.

4. At the bottom corner of your PC screen, you’ll see the “Delete Account” button, next to the “Disable Account” button

5. Click the “Delete Account” button to make your Discord account disappear permanently.

6. However, if you have enabled two-factor authorization, you will likely be prompted to enter your password and your 2FA code as well before completing the process.

Pre-requisites for Deletion

As mentioned before for the deletion to work, you will have to do a few things prior. If you happen to be the owner of a server, you will need to either transfer ownership off to a trusted source or delete the server.

Transferring ownership of the server

To transferring ownership on Discord, follow these steps:

1. Open the Discord app.

2. Click the “Server Name,” and a range of options will open; then select “Server Setting.”

3. At the lower-left of the screen, click the ‘members’ option below “User Management.”

4. Here you will have to make the critical decision of whom to put in charge. Once you have decided who to transfer the ownership to, hover over the user’s name and click the “3 vertical white dots.”

5. From the “dialog menu”, click on “Transfer Ownership.”

Once it’s completed, you will become a regular server member. Your access to the server will be limited and as per the assigned role.

Deleting the Server

On the other hand, if you don’t have anyone trustworthy to transfer its ownership to or you simply don’t feel like handing it over to someone. You might as well just delete it.

Here’s how you can delete the server to complete the process of deleting your Discord account:

1. Click the “Server Name” again. Within the several options, click the “Server Settings.”

2. At the bottom-left of your window, click the “Delete Server” option in the “User Management” section.

3. Confirm the deletion by entering your account password. If you have enabled two-factor authorization on your account, just like for account deletion, you will be required to enter in the code provided prior to server deletion as well.

4. After this, you will be prompted one more time to click the “Delete Server” button before it is successfully deleted.

How To Delete Discord Account Permanently From Mobile

You can delete the discord account from iPhone and Android. It is pretty much the same procedure as disabling your account with a different ending. As said previously, for those on mobile, you will need to contact support to have your account deleted.

Nevertheless, follow the steps below to delete Discord account on mobile:

1. Launch the Discord app on your phone.

2. Tap the cog or “User Settings” icon on the lower right corner of the phone.

3.Tap on the “My Account” option within the “User Settings” menu.

4. You’ll have the option to “Delete Account”. You will be prompted to the support page explaining ways to deleting your account.

5. However, if you have enabled two-factor authorization, you will likely be prompted to enter your password and your 2FA code as well before completing the process.

Just like disabling, there is no direct way to delete your Discord account through a mobile device. To complete the delete process from a mobile device, you’ll have to send a request to the support team.

Note :
Once you are done deleting your Discord account, you will have a two-week window to restore it, after that you won’t be able to retrieve your account.

After the account is wiped out, the username will appear as “DeletedUser 0000” or something identical to this. However, users whom you have texted via your account will still be able to see those texts.

Follow techitover for more tech articles.

Leave a Comment