Opening a profile on Twitter is very simple, in a matter of seconds you already have your account active. The problem comes when you want to delete your Twitter profile. It really is not a simple step like delete and everything disappears. Twitter keeps your account in hibernation for 30 days, in case you haven’t thought about it. After this period and if you do not enter your Twitter profile again, it will be deleted.
Steps to permanently delete a Twitter account
If you want to permanently unsubscribe and disappear from the world of microblogging, follow these steps. It is very simple.
Delete Twitter Account from Computer
Press the image of your profile on your Twitter profile, so the profile and communication menu will be displayed, as you can see in the image. Select the settings and privacy option. At the end of the menu appears the option “deactivate my account”.
When clicking on deactivate my account, another screen will appear where Twitter makes sure that you really want to say goodbye. In this section, you will also see the Twitter conditions to delete an account. Remember that by clicking “deactivate your username” your account will be inactive for 30 days, not deleted. If during that period you do not decide to reactivate it, then your Twitter account will have been deleted.
Delete Twitter Account from Mobile
Twitter does not allow the option to delete a Twitter account from a mobile device. The only option is to unsubscribe from Twitter through the desktop version. For the safety of a user who may lose his mobile or that another person accessing the mobile terminal may delete the Twitter profile.
Other frequently asked questions about deleting an account on Twitter
Does Deleting My Twitter Account make my Tweets Disappear?
Yes, Twitter deletes your account but keeps all your data for 30 days in case you want to reconnect or it was not really you who decided to delete the account.
When you have multiple people managing your social media accounts, including Twitter. Someone may mistakenly or “bad faith” delete your account. For this reason, Twitter keeps your data for a month before deleting your Twitter permanently.
On the other hand, tweets that have been indexed by Google will continue to appear for a while. In this link, you can read the official Twitter information on this topic. Click here to read the Twitter conditions in this regard.
How to Delete Someone else’s Twitter Account?
You cannot delete other people’s Twitter account if it is not your own profile. Nor can you delete a Twitter account without access passwords.
What you can do is report a Twitter account, in case you have a reason (it publishes spam, its account is hacked, it is impersonating your identity, it shares abusive or harmful content). It has to be a reason that violates the rules of Twitter. If not everyone would be denouncing profiles of the competition.
THESE ARE THE STEPS TO FOLLOW TO REPORT A TWITTER PROFILE, NOT TO DELETE IT:
- Enter the profile of the person or brand you want to report or have the Twitter account removed.
- Select the drop-down option, 3 dots, that appears just below the Twitter header photo next to the Follow button and pull down the menu.
- Select the option to report to and fill out the form that Twitter offers you.
- The process of deleting a Twitter account is simple, much more than on Facebook. Remember that you can only delete it from the desktop version. Follow the steps:
- From your profile photo, display the menu and choose the settings and privacy option.
- At the bottom of the page, you will find the button deactivate my account
- In the next step, press deactivate again, and your username
- Wait 30 days without connecting and your Twitter account will be deleted.
Simple as that. Of course, remember to read the frequently asked questions about how to delete a Twitter account so as not to find surprises, and keep in mind that after those 30 days you will lose everything: username, followers, etc.
Are you interested in knowing more about Twitter? Please leave your feedback in the comment section below, And Follow Techitover for more guides and Tweaks.