Facebook Data

How To Stop Facebook Data Sharing

 Facebook Data

Online audits are irritating yet important. It’s up to you to ensure sure social networks and applications aren’t scraping more data than they should.

Cambridge Analytica, anyone? The controversy began in 2018, but the Facebook data was collected in 2014. In 2014, this data was easy to collect lawfully until the gatherers ran afoul of Facebook, which experienced bad news. Facebook was astonished.

Tech corporations make a lot of money from your information, either by mining it to sell you goods (Facebook has data trackers in other apps) or by selling it directly. The social network has made it easier to protect some of your data, but it still collects it. Never.

However, Facebook has constraints. The tools can be confusing. Some of them may limit your Facebook use and how you log into other sites. First steps. Because limiting access to your Facebook info is a necessary for peace of mind.

More From Us:Oppo’s Apple Watch Clone Features With Snapdragon W5 Gen 1.

Reduce app and site settings

First, go to Settings > Apps and Websites. On a smartphone, use the hamburger menu.

The applications and sites offered have access to your Facebook data because you connected them or logged in with Facebook. Some can post to Facebook. View and edit shared content. A pop-up window displays the information each app is accessing; alter its settings to limit its access. Tell apps not to share your Friends list, status updates, events, etc. App-by-app and site-by-site.

Some of the “newest” sites and apps are years old. If it’s something you’ll use again, you can log into the app or website later (unless you block it, see below). This “deletes posts, videos, or events [the app or site] posted on your timeline.”
When you uninstall a Facebook-logged-in app or website, you’ll see this notice. Doing so may remove your third-party account and/or all site activity, even if the account remains. You can click an extra box to delete apps/sites’ Facebook updates, videos, and photographs.

Once you’re done, you’ll get a confirmation box that makes it seem like it would take a while to delete everything. It takes a long to get a credit card refund, but spending is quick.

Apps and websites removed

On the same screen, select View Eliminated Apps and Websites to see all the accesses you’ve removed.

Click the View link for each app/site to see when you deleted it and your user ID number with the service. If available, each site’s privacy statement is linked. Many links I clicked led to 404 pages, but that’s normal for defunct services.

Eliminate third-party access

Visit Preferences at the bottom of the page to enable or disable third-party app/site logins. Turn off Apps, websites, and games or Game and Apple notifications.
Facebook won’t connect to third-party apps or sites if you do this. You can’t log into websites or games with Facebook, share between applications, or personalise instantly. You’ll also be logged out of Facebook apps.
If you turn it off and on, you’re logged out of all apps and websites. This helps you reconnect to trusted apps/sites.

Turning off Gaming and App Notifications stops friends from sending irritating game requests. It doesn’t spare exchanged info, but may save friendships.

Facebook Off-Activity

Two-way data sharing. Even when you’re not on Facebook, Facebook tracks some of your online activity. Many sites share your data with Facebook, primarily through ad links.
You can view and clear that data. Settings & Privacy > Your Facebook Info > Outside Facebook. Recent Activity lists all sharers. (You’ll need to reenter your Facebook login.)
Clearing Facebook’s activity history will disassociate it from any accounts with which it’s directly linked. No advertising are affected. To prevent future connections, click Disconnect Future Activity. This stops you from using Facebook to log into other sites in the future, but you can always change it.

Even without data sharing or cookies, Facebook and other sites can use your browser fingerprint to identify you.

Privacy-check

If you’re concerned about Facebook privacy, perform the entire privacy inspection, which explains who may access your posts, how to safeguard your account, and more.
No one needs to know your hometown and birthday under Who Can See What You Share; other sites utilise such information for security. “Only me” Under Friends and following, limit who may access your whole friends list or list of pages you follow—scammers use those to discover names for phoney profiles so they can swindle more people.

Never have a Facebook account to avoid tracking and privacy breaches. Next, delete (don’t deactivate) your account. Meta also owns Instagram and WhatsApp.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.